Future Echoes (CD/LP)

Pictish Trail - Future Echoes packshot.jpg
Pictish Trail - Future Echoes packshot.jpg

Future Echoes (CD/LP)

from 11.99

FUTURE ECHOES is the brand new album from PICTISH TRAIL!

Released September 9th 2016, via Lost Map & Caroline International.

You can purchase the album on deluxe CD or gatefold LP - each comes with a download of the album.   THE GATEFOLD LP IS CURRENTLY SOLD OUT!

Add To Cart

The deluxe CD is a limited edition release, which comes in a high-gloss sleeve and a spectacular 16-page booklet filled with exclusive artwork from John Muir (HumDrumJetSet), and printed lyrics.




The LP has been pressed on clear vinyl, and is housed in a printed sleeve with all lyrics and artwork, within a high-gloss gatefold sleeve.

Both CD and LP versions will come with a download code for the full album.  If you pre-order, we will send you a download for current single 'Far Gone (Don't Leave)'.


  1. Far Gone (Don't Leave)
  2. Lionhead
  3. Dead Connection
  4. Rhombus
  5. Half Life


  1. Easy With Either
  2. Who's Comin' In?
  3. Until Now
  4. Strange Sun
  5. After Life


Something of a sonic hermit, Pictish Trail has spent large parts of the past few years tucked away in his caravan on the Hebridean isle of Eigg, feverishly working on the follow up to Secret Soundz Vol. 1 & 2, his critically- acclaimed double album of DIY electronic folk-tinged croft pop, released in 2014. Future Echoes is the mesmerising result. Written in remote seclusion but recorded in the bustling heart of London, it reunites Pictish Trail with Adem Ilhan, who produces the majority of the record. Johnny and Adem previously wrote music together in 2010 under the name Silver Columns, releasing the hugely well received album Yes And Dance via London taste-makers Moshi Moshi. Future Echoes features additional production and mixing from Rob Jones (Sweet Baboo, Slow Club) and drumming from Alex Thomas (Fridge, Squarepusher, Air, Bat For Lashes) and was mastered by Guy Davie at Electric Mastering. 

A very personal musing on mortality, the death of friendships and the finality of things, Future Echoes represents the most confident, cohesive and pop-savvy collection of music Pictish Trail has written to date. The album’s opener and first single ‘Far Gone (Don’t Leave)’ takes its cues both musically and thematically from the Coen brothers’ Fargo, adding a tongue-in- cheek hip-hop beat, raspy Casio keyboard bassline and echo-slathered vocal over the top of an ominously queasy sample. ‘Dead Connection’ is a dizzying and very danceable dispatch of ghostly electro all about attempted discourse with the dead and accepting that what is gone is gone. ‘Half-Life’ slows things down at the album’s half way stage for a by-turns shuddering and twinkling take on decaying and yet somehow still interminable relationships, while closer ‘After-Life’ is a twisted polyrhythmic psychedelic disco opus, with a chorus sung in a Jimmy Somerville-worthy falsetto, reflecting on reincarnation and life lived on repeat. Which is exactly what you’ll be putting Future Echoes on by the time you get that far.